Pregnancy · Product Reviews · Registry Bags

Part Three of My Free Baby Items Series: What Comes in The Free Pregnancy Box from Noobie Box

And now for Part 3 of 4 in my free registry bag series!!! I previously covered what came in my free registry bags that you pick up in-store after creating a baby registry at Target, Babies “R” Us and Buy Buy Baby so if you missed those two posts feel free to check them out here for Part One (all about the Target bag) and here for Part Two.

In this post I would like to cover what came in my free pregnancy gift box from a baby company called Noobie Box. This is actually a new(ish) company – formed around 2015 or so I believe – and was actually my FAVORITE box to receive of all the free baby items I have picked up so far this pregnancy, as it appears to be highly curated and came in probably the cutest packaging of all the boxes and/or bags I received (in my humble opinion). I received the free box back in September.

I first learned about the Noobie Box browsing through YouTube pregnancy videos and one mom had posted what contents came in her free pregnancy box. The video was posted probably six or seven months ago but the mom seemed thrilled with the items inside and I decided to look into it. Plus I saw the magic word – FREE!!!

Lo and behold, I visited their website and saw that their home page advertises their free pregnancy box upfront, suggesting that each box is filled with “high quality products, valuable coupons and important health information for both you and your baby.” The one-time box boasts a cute design and as the sample image on their website showed products I had yet to receive in any of my other registry bags, I wanted to give them a try. However, while their website suggests only one box will be sent per pregnancy, it also clearly states that this box can only be shipped to 12 states located in the Northeast. Oh no – I learned it’s a Northeast United States-only box!!!

I was bummed!  I used to be a Northeast girl but have since moved out of their delivery area, and to receive this box in the mail, you have to live in either Connecticut, Washington DC, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island or Vermont. My free box hopes definitely plummeted.

UPDATE AS OF JANUARY 2018: The company recently announced that they have gone national so now boxes are being shipped throughout the U.S. This is no longer a Northeast U.S. only-box. However at the time I wrote this post, it was still a Northeast only box so the following chronicles my experience and efforts in getting this free box shipped to me in a non-Northeast U.S. state.

Noobie Box
The free pregnancy box from Noobie Box

What attracted me to the box, besides its cute packaging and the seemingly custom curated items included in the sample photo on their website, was the offer of fast and efficient shipping. Their website states the item ships within two business days, which is even faster than my Amazon box arrived – more on that in a future post. So if you’re like me, and like to receive items quickly in the mail, this box definitely sounded promising. [Note: I also signed up to receive a free pregnancy welcome box from Walmart back in early September, which is advertised on their baby registry home page, but have still yet to receive it and when I reached out to their customer service I was told that the Walmart Box is only available while supplies last and they are currently “sold out of this free promotion” for the next few months…why they keep the free Welcome Box offer advertised on their website is another story but at any point, with less than six weeks remaining before baby arrives, I don’t think I will be receiving the free Walmart Welcome Box anytime soon).

If you don’t live in Noobie Box’s delivery area, they still encourage moms to sign up for their email list to receive their newsletter and offers from brand partners. That wasn’t going to cut it for me though so I thought about what friends and family I had who still lived in one of the eligible states and reached out to my sister who actually loves going to the post office and arranged for her to receive my free box and then ship it right back to me!  She probably thought I was a little nuts but did oblige. So while the box did ship out in 2 days as promised I received it in about five, allotting for the extra transit time for my sister to take it to her local post office and ship the box across the country.

I actually uploaded a video of my unboxing of the Noobie Box on YouTube so if you’d like to check that out first view the link below.

While the Noobie “Free Pregnancy Box” is free, you do still have to pay $6.95 for shipping. The company appears to have been founded by three European women who now live in New York City and wanted to create a mommy box in the style that is popular in Europe where new moms receive items in a specialized baby box to help transition them into motherhood. They also offer four other paid options, their “milestone boxes,” which come with five full-size products apiece that are targeted around a specific theme and stage of your newborn’s life including the Noobie Nest box for babies that are age 0 to 3 months and includes items designated to help you adjust to a sleepless schedule, the Noobie Eat box for babies 4 to 6 months with products included to help get your baby started on solid foods, the Noobie Play box for once your baby hits 7 months old and is most interested in engaging with his senses and finally the Noobie One box for ages 10 months and up, designed to help a baby prepare for important celebratory milestones such as first time rolling over, first steps, first tooth etc. as they approach the one year mark. Those boxes cost $24.95 each and ship within two weeks, though there is also an option to subscribe to a full year of boxes at once from Noobie Box for $99.75 and receive a free tote bag.

However, while they do offer these larger and more expensive boxes, the company allows you to make the decision whether to sign up for their other boxes or not so I simply stuck with their free pregnancy box. Since signing up and placing my order, I have only received one email offer to date so it is nice that they are considerate about spamming their customers (plus, the offer I received was actually useful with a 40% discount and additional 20% online discount toward clothing from Carter’s).

What Came in My Free Pregnancy Noobie Box:

Welcome card and welcome letter from Noobie Box
Welcome card announcing Noobie’s other boxes as well as the welcome letter sent to moms-to-be
  • A welcome card describing the 4 other milestone boxes available from Noobie Box
  • A welcome letter that suggests the box’s contents were curated by the owners and each item was used with their own newborns (honestly I loved this personal touch as it showed a level of thought and consideration goes into each box)
  • Personalized prenatal vitamins from a company called Care/of
  • a sample pack of 10 chemical-free wipes from WaterWipes, a brand I had never tried but had seen before
  • Month milestone cards from Chatbooks, a photo book company, to document each month of your newborn’s life for the first 12 months
  • a sample pack from Lansinoh with 2 disposable nursing pads and 2 breast milk storage bags
  • one Mam anti-colic bottle
  • And a long-sleeve, warm and fuzzy footed onesie from Carter’s that included a cute gender neutral design with an owl, fox and elephant on the front with snaps along the baby’s legs and was good for 3 months and up — this was the reason I wanted this box so badly as I had seen another reviewer online specify that her box included a onesie (though her design was different for a warmer season) and I loved the idea of receiving a cute baby onesie in the mail as no other registry bag/free box does this!!! This was actually the first baby onesie I received or purchased for my newly anticipated baby so this was a real treat – who doesn’t like looking at small baby onesies?! They’re so cute.
Products received in my Noobie Box
Products received in my Noobie Box

The Noobie Box I received also included a number of curated offers and coupons including an ad to create a universal registry with Babylist.com (which also gives users a 10% completion discount as a perk of registering with them), a guide on how to breastfeed from Lansinoh complete with tips, an ad for a babymoov Dream Belt pregnancy pillow to assist mothers-to-be with sleeping more comfortably, a coupon for $1 off a future WaterWipes purchase good from now until the end of this year, a 20% coupon from Carter’s to go along with the free onesie included in the box, a pamphlet on newborn stem cell storage from Cord Blood Registry and a 20% coupon off maternity wear from Stowaway Collection, another Noobie Box partner.

Ads and coupons
Ads and coupons

VERDICT: Many of these brands, besides the more mainstream ones like Cord Blood Registry, Babylist.com and Lansinoh, I was unfamiliar with so it was nice to receive some new and different products in the mail that I may have previously been unaware of. I thoroughly enjoyed what came in the box and for any moms-to-be who are located in one of their 12 designated states – or are like me and love receiving baby products and have someone they know who lives in one of the specified areas who is willing to ship the box to you – I definitely recommend receiving this free pregnancy box as the shipping at just $6.95 is fairly nominal and you do receive a good bang for your buck given the onesie included alone. (Hopefully they don’t change that offer in the future as it brings such a nice touch to this expectant mother box.)

Let me know in the comments if you would have gone through hoops like I did to receive this box and/or if there are other companies that offer something similar. Also stay tuned for the final part of this free registry bag/free pregnancy box series that will conclude with the items I received in my Destination Maternity in-store bag as well as my free welcome box for Prime members from Amazon.

One thought on “Part Three of My Free Baby Items Series: What Comes in The Free Pregnancy Box from Noobie Box

Leave a comment